Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


List of Federal Universities in North West, Nigeria

In today’s article we be talking about the comprehensive list of federal Universities in North West, Nigeria.

The North West region of Nigeria is home to several prestigious federal universities. Let’s explore some of the top options in the area:

Detailed List of Federal Universities in North West Nigeria By State

The North West region of Nigeria is home to several federal universities.

Here is a list of the federal universities in each state of North West Nigeria:

Kaduna State

  • Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria – The oldest university in Northern Nigeria, established in 1962. ABU has over 50,000 students across 12 faculties.

Kano State

  • Bayero University Kano (BUK) – Founded in 1977, BUK has over 40,000 students across 12 faculties and 70 academic programs. It is a center of learning for Northern Nigeria.

Katsina State

  • Umaru Musa Yar’adua University (UMYU), Katsina – Established in 2006, UMYU has over 20,000 students across 9 faculties. It is named after the former president of Nigeria, Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’adua, who was from Katsina State.

Sokoto State

  • Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto (UDUSOK) – Founded in 1975, UDUSOK is known for programs in agriculture, education, and sciences. It has over 30,000 students across 12 faculties.

Zamfara State

  • Federal University Gusau (FUGUS) – Established in 2010, FUGUS has over 10,000 students across 7 faculties. It aims to make higher education accessible to people in Zamfara State and neighboring states.

Kebbi State

  • Federal University Birnin Kebbi (FUBK) – Established in 2013, FUBK has over 5,000 students across 6 faculties. It provides subsidized higher education to people in Kebbi State and surrounding areas.

READ ALSO: Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan, school fees, list of courses offered

Key Takeaways on Federal Universities in North West Nigeria

If you’re looking to attend a federal university in North West Nigeria, here are some of the main points to keep in mind:

  • There are currently 7 federal universities in the North West region of Nigeria. Some of the major ones are:

1. Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria

Established in 1962, ABU is one of the largest universities in Nigeria with over 50,000 students. It has a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs across 13 faculties.

2. Bayero University Kano (BUK)

Founded in 1977, BUK is located in Kano state and has over 40,000 students. It is made up of 10 faculties and 2 colleges offering various programs.

3. Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto (UDUSOK)

UDUSOK was established in 1975 and is located in Sokoto state. It has over 30,000 students across its 12 faculties and numerous academic departments.

  • The application process for admission into these federal universities is through the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) organized by the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB).
  • The courses offered cut across science, arts, social science, medical sciences, agriculture, education, engineering and technology.
  • The universities have modern facilities like lecture theaters, laboratories, libraries, and accommodation for students though the available facilities may not match the large number of students.

READ ALSO: African University of Science & Technology, Abuja, Courses Offered And school Fees


The major federal universities in North West Nigeria provide affordable quality education with many programs to choose from.

With proper research on the specific requirements of your desired course of study, you’ll be on your way to a rewarding learning experience.

Written By

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like

error: Content is protected !!